Leave a comment

EDIT ME — I vs. Me

quote mark

 

I don’t always speak with proper grammar. I know how to write it, but my inner hillbilly refuses to think that way while I’m speaking. Therefore, you might hear something like this:

 

“Me and my friends went to the rodeo.”

“Him and his girlfriend were necking behind the stands.”

 

 

We’ve all heard this exchange:

“Is Susan there?”

“This is her.”

 

Do you know what’s wrong with that?

“Is Susan there?”

“This is she.” OR “It is I.”

WHY? The linking verb of IS makes it necessary to use the pronoun as a SUBJECT.

 

How about those first sentences I admit to being guilty of saying?

Correct:

“My friends and I went to the rodeo.”

“He and his girlfriend were necking behind the stands.”

 

USE “I” when referring to subject. Example: Dawnelle and I always go to the movies.

Down and Dirty Tip: Remove the first name. Does the sentence read okay? What if you use ME instead of I? “Me always go to the movies.”

 

USE “ME” when referring to object of a sentence. “The police invited Brian and me to spend the night in jail.” What if you use I? “The police invited I to spend the night in jail.”

The Down and Dirty Tip works here as well. Remove the first name and see if the sentence makes sense.

 

Hope this helps!

Thanks for reading,

Em~

Leave a Reply

