Leave a comment

Creative Process blog hop

Today I’m switching things up on the Hardworking Heroes blog. Rhonda Lee Carver has sent me on a new mission–to talk to you about my creative process.

Read Rhonda Lee Carver’s creative process here.

emfishlips

1) What am I working on?

I just switched gears from badass bikers to smoking-hot cowboys! Book 3 of the Boot Knockers series, Reining Men, is due to my editor ASAP. It releases in December 2014.

 

The one man in the world he’d go gay for—and the woman who might cement their relationship.

 

The Boot Knockers Ranch caters to women in all ways. And now rookie Paul Hawkins is officially part of the team. He’s had six months to hone his skills with the ladies and prides himself on being a prime catch. Trouble is, not only the women are eyeing him.

Jack Iverwellar can’t get the rugged cowboy, Paul, out of his system. He wants him in his bed more than anything, but Paul is resistant to relations with other men. Still, Jack strikes up a friendship and finds himself falling for Paul.

When Jack takes on the quiet and shy new client Lissy Lofton, he’s stricken by how much they have in common. She’s a show jumper, and watching her ride is poetry for the soul. Jack also finds she’s a temptress between the sheets. He can hardly keep up with her, so he calls in a recruit—Paul.

As the cowboys work to please the woman who sets them both on fire, the sexual and emotional walls collapse, and Paul lets Jack in. But soon Lissy will leave the ranch, and keeping her means they’ll have to band together in brand new ways.

 

Warning: Two smoking-hot cowboys whose drive to please the same woman leaves them with the desire to please each other.

 

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I’m known for the hottest erotic romance and menages. I write gritty heroes who are hardworking–in bed and out. They clean up pretty, but they won’t do your dishes, ladies.

 

3) Why do I write what I do?

They say to write what you know. I don’t know jack about a guy in a highrise office building. The men I know have callused hands and wear Carhartt jackets.

I write erotic romance because I can’t keep the heat out of my stories, and I found it’s better to give my characters free rein!

 

4) How does your writing process work?

First, I spent some time glutting myself on emails and social media. I get it out of my system so I’m not distracted. Yes, I want to play with my friends in the sandbox all day. *grin*

Then I put on a writing hat. In winter it’s thick gray and in summer a light gray. It’s a thug hat and I only started putting it on because I don’t shower until afternoon, and I can’t stand my wild hair for hours before that happens. Recently I discovered I CANNOT WRITE WITHOUT IT. Crazy, I know. My word count can vary as much as 3000 words if I’m not wearing my thug hat!

As far as my writing process itself, I have a goal, motivation, and conflict for my main characters. I know a lot about them and how their strengths and weaknesses feed into the plot. I know how the book will end…but I allow my characters to hijack the page.

 

Thank you all for stopping by! Please follow the authors listed below!

Look for these authors contributing to the creative process tour:

Em Taylor

 

Joanne Kenrick

JoAnne Kenrick (2)

Bio:
JoAnne Kenrick is a multi-published author who writes both contemporaries and paranormals. She was born and raised in a wee seaside town in North Wales, and has traveled far and wide. In true Brit form, she is a teaholic.

JoAnne now lives in North Carolina with her very own British hero, where she creates ever afters with a backdrop of those wonderful places she’s lived. Come across the pond and faraway…with JoAnne Kenrick.
 
links;
blog address

http://www.joannekenrick.com/search/label/blog

 

Leave a Reply

