4 Comments

EDIT ME — Should I go Further or Farther?

quote mark

 

I get a lot of questions about these 2 confusing words.

 

Em’s Simple Trick:

 

If you can measure it, it’s farther.

Ex: He ran his hand farther down her spine onto her butt.

why: You could measure the distance in inches or centimeters or even in hand-lengths.

How to remember: Farther has FAR in it.

FURTHER is figurative.

Ex: Complaining further will result in me pulling the car over and smacking you with my flip-flop.

Sometimes these tips don’t work. For instance: I’m further on my crocheting than you are. (I don’t crochet).

Bottom line: Farther for distance that can be measured. Further if you’re being figurative. If you don’t know, such as in the crocheting sentence above, go with FURTHER.

 

Thanks for reading!

Em ~

4 comments on “EDIT ME — Should I go Further or Farther?

  1. The further I go the farther I am.

  2. Em, I have to tell you… I’ve been writing for a long time now.  I’ve been a free-lance journalist for 10 years, and I’ve written creatively ever since I can remember – short stories as well as (secretly) the variety you’ve become known for. I have excellent grammar when writing professionally, and I tend to think my punctuation skills are decent.  However, I have learned A LOT from this blog, and have been archiving them for future reference. I love the way you manage to address the LITTLE things that many writers often are curious about, but never really take the time to properly research. Also, sometimes it’s just nice to So, on behalf of my youngest daughter/future novelist and all the rest of us writers out here in Cyberland,THANK YOU!

    Just had to be said.  

    Kat

  3. REPOST, due to idiotic failure to finish a sentence in my previous message.  *facepalm*

    *******************************************

    Em, I have to tell you… I’ve been writing for a long time now.  I’ve been a free-lance journalist for 10 years, and I’ve written creatively ever since I can remember – short stories as well as (secretly) the variety you’ve become known for. I have excellent grammar when writing professionally, and I tend to think my punctuation skills are decent.  However, I have learned A LOT from this blog, and have been archiving them for future reference. I love the way you manage to address the LITTLE things that many writers often are curious about, but never really take the time to properly research. Also, sometimes it’s just nice to have your techniques and intuition validated. So, on behalf of my youngest daughter/future novelist and all the rest of us writers out here in Cyberland, THANK YOU!

    Just had to be said.  

    Kat

Leave a Reply

